Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re: TX 200 Problems - Questions

Sal
TX 200 Problems - Questions
March 19, 2016 04:16PM
I had added this to another post and decided to break it out.

Not sure if anyone remembers but several months ago I was complaining about how badly my TX200 was shooting, well I found out what was wrong.

I got a wild bug last night around midnight, took apart my TX200 MKiii that was giving me problems and found an unholy mess inside angry smiley The spring lubricant was almost gummed up hard, the rear guide, which is naval brass, had chatter marks in it with brass shavings everywhere, the piston seal had shattered spewing some kind of plastic all over the internals of the piston. So I was up till 3am cleaning and salvaging what I could. My bad I guess, I'm no springer expert, I should have had this apart every 5 years to give it a good once over. If I had done that, this would have never happened. Now that my fear of taking apart springers has been abated, my other springers are getting torn down and cleaned up asap!

Couple of questions for those willing and knowledgeable. smiling smiley

How straight should a spring be? Perfectly straight? Is a slight and I mean slight wobble ok?
How tight should the rear spring guide be when fitted into the spring?
Is molybdenum disulphide paste (60%) good enough for spring lube, should any additional silicone lube be added to dampen the spring?
Can anyone recommend a place to purchase a piston seal for a TX200 MKiii?
Any other tips welcome.

Thanks!

Live and learn I guess, shame on me.
Sal
March 19, 2016 05:16PM
Hi Sal,

A steel guide would be much better.

The spring will be kept straight by the guide inside, and interior of the tube outside of spring.

If you do replace a guide, make sure it has clearance when compressed. Some springs get smaller inside when compressed.

Just the things I thought might help.

Gary
Sal
March 19, 2016 05:18PM