Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re: Little story: in search of good sluggun and slug

Little story: in search of good sluggun and slug
May 17, 2009 09:36PM
Like some of you know, I have sam yang big bore 909S. I bought it last winter… and waited a good deal of time to get it in FIN. Well in the time when I waited I studied about airguns, their working mechanism, principles, what they could do or are capable to do. I learned that airguns are much more powerful than people usually believe they are, I learned that they (PCP´s) are very interesting in their mechanism of action. I was surprised about several facts about airguns (note Girandoni and such), and in particular, I noticed that those Korean PCP airguns (one of which I was waiting) are somehow strange in relation to other airguns, to all PCP airguns, custom airguns, I mean. namely, small bore Korean airguns are very powerful in relation to other airguns… But big bore Korean airguns are not so powerful in relation to other big bore airguns (now mostly custom airguns…). Maybe it is because the comparison to custom airguns is too tough. But, I thought that there must be something that I can do to make my Korean big bore slightly better in that respect.

Well, I must tell you that I, of course, hope that I could have airgun enough good so that there is no need to tune it or try to make it work better. But as long as things are like they are, I could and must say, that I have had some serious fun of -- or from -- the current situation, although I still don’t have exactly the gun I want.

Now about half year after I got the sam yang in my hands, I could say that I’m somehow succeeded in that tuning operation; but, there are still things to do, of course. Those things are now mostly centered on the search of appropriate slug and slug mold.