Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Sound barrier question

Sound barrier question
March 06, 2010 04:44AM
Ok, I'm new to the world of big bore airguns and airguns in general. So I have a question that might seem intuitive to you "ol boys".

When hunting, and using a super sonic powder burner you don't have to worry about the sound reaching and spooking a critter you're shooting at because by the time the sound gets there the projectile has been there, done it's thing and is gone. But when you shoot a projectile at less than the speed of sound there is a short (depends on difference between the speed of sound and the speed of projectile (which isn't just the speed at the muzzle like most people measure, it slows as it goes so the difference between the speed of sound and the speed of projectile increases the longer the shot)) period of time when the sound reaches the target and the projectile isn't there yet.

My question is, on longer shots have any of you had any issues with the prey spooking, flinching, or anything like that? If you're shooting at 25 yards, it would be so fast it wouldn't matter, but on a longer shot (Like the 100 plus yard shot Gary put on a boar, and I've heard of 130 yard shots on coyotes) could this become and issue in reality, I know theory and reality butt heads a lot, which is why I'm asking this question. I'm not figuring that the prey would hear the sound and then consiously move, but more of a loud sound flinch/turn to see kind of thing which could make where you're aiming at be a slightly different point on the animal. Is this worth discussing or is this too much of a theoretical issue until you get out to a point at which you prudently shouldn't be taking a shot?

Basic numbers :
110 yard shot at 800fps (assume this speed for the duration of the flight) takes 0.4125 of a second
110 yards for sound takes 0.293 of a second
325 fps (the difference between the speed of sound and the speed of projectile) is roughly 28.9%