Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re: A few photos of Airforce Airgun Accessories

Anonymous User
A few photos of Airforce Airgun Accessories
December 22, 2008 02:53AM
While I cannot even begin to compare myself to Gary's masterful works, I figured I'd share a few pics of some of the small parts I've made in my limited 5 months of self taught machining experience.

a set of tank valve disassembly tools:

and requisite spanner "wrench"

a couple of trigger shoes
Photobucket

a gagle more, pictured beside the stock they were cut from:

some cocking knobs I affectionately call "bi-metal". The base aluminum knob is turned 1/2 the length to create a shoulder then a brass sleeve is turned to -.001 ID of the OD of the aluminum base and the two press fit together before final finishing. I was quite proud of the results on these.

and some "plain" aluminum ones

a muzzle break and cocking handle for a B-51, actually one of my first projects and before I had a rotary table to allign the holes in the mbrake.
Photobucket

a broken Talon valve stem, and the replacement I made, decided to make it more effecient while I was at it. Reduced stem diameter and ports aligned/repositioned for a more straight through flow.
Photobucket

all for now. One day I'll get to where I am comfortable attempting a 'scratch build'.

one thing I have learned in my limited time building airgun parts is an appreciation for the time and effort that goes in to such a project.

Hats off to ya' Gary, If people only knew........your prices would be seen as a bargain. smileys with beer
December 22, 2008 03:27AM
SHRPSHOTR

Thanks for posting. That's some fine work. Well done. I hope it moves well for you too.

The "machining" isn't nearly so stressful as the eternal "setting up", is it? You work for an hour to prepare to make a ten minute cut. I'm sure you'll recognize that factoid.

Nothing wrong with being self taught either. Me too. take a bow

Gary
Anonymous User
December 22, 2008 11:50AM