Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re: Caribou in Peurto Rico

Caribou in Peurto Rico
July 08, 2010 07:40PM
Hello Gary:

Enclosed you will find a few pictures illustrating the evidence that the Caribou went out this weekend. To tell you the truth I feel ashamed of showing my best group to you after all the 165, 185 and 200 yds groups that you showed. laughing again

Anyway the rifle was sighted in at 50 yds using the Bishop slugs and then I proceeded to shoot a group of steel targets at 75 and 100 yds. I included a picture of what was left of a 306 grains slug after hitting the steel target at 100 yds. There is a bunch of energy left at that distance.

When I started shooting the carbon fiber tank was filled to 4,300 psi. I shot about 80 slugs and ran out of ammo. At the end, the carbon fiber tank still had 3,200 psi left. The Caribou is a very efficient air rifle compared to other less powerful big bores out there.

The most that I can shoot in this particular range is 100 yds, so my next mission will be to shoot some groups at that distance and see how they look.

Again, you are setting the bar very high and it's a shame for me to present this 50 yds group that otherwise I would have felt proud…He, he, he…

bowing

Best,

Julio

Well, looks to me as if Julio did pretty well. Don't believe all that stuff about him not shooting well. winking smiley

a_caribou_carving_range.jpg

a_Caribou.jpg

a_bishop46.jpg

DSC00846.JPG

The gun looks good. I'm glad all is working out well!

Excellent to see the rifle out and being enjoyed.

You see we're keeping with our policy of not allowing anyone in the States here to actually shoot a Barnes rifle. Well ... Mississippi is on Kent's estate ... but I think he pulled out of the Union recently. haha. Neil shoots in New Zealand ... another Barnes free zone. haha. Cedric shoots ... but California is just a state of mind. So; we're doing good. Green bowing

Gary